Deb Spera / CALL YOUR DAUGHTER HOME

Call Your Daughter Home is an emotionally resonant and stunning tour de force that follows three fierce, unforgettable Southern women in the years leading up to the Great Depression.

It’s 1924 South Carolina and the region is still recovering from the infamous boll weevil infestation that devastated the land and the economy. Gertrude, a mother of four, must make an unconscionable decision to save her daughters from starvation or die at the hands of an abusive husband. Retta is navigating a harsh world as a first-generation freed slave, still employed by the Coles, influential plantation proprietors who once owned her family. Annie is the matriarch of the Coles family and owner of the Branchville Sewing Circle, a business left to her by her father when he passed. She must come to terms with the terrible truth that robbed her of her young son's life and has ripped her two daughers from her side. These three women seemingly have nothing in common, yet they unite to to stand up to the terrible injustices that have long plagued the small town. As they come to help each other, they find strength in the bond that ties women together.

The characters in Call Your Daughter Home are inspired by the stories Deb heard while growing up in the South. Her grandmother and mother are from the rural town where the novel is set, and the historic details and atmosphere are derived from Deb's research and the family stories that were passed down to her.

We're thrilled to welcome Deb to Turnrow for the first time for this special lunchtime event on June 11 at 12pm.

Event date: 
Tuesday, June 11, 2019 - 12:00pm
Event address: 
304 Howard Street
Greenwood, MS 38930

Deb Spera's debut novel Call Your Daughter Home is an emotionally resonant and stunning tour de force that follows three fierce, unforgettable Southern women in the years leading up to the Great Depression. For readers of The Help or The Kitchen House, Call Your Daughter Home is a worthy addition to the august pantheon of classic Southern novels.

Deb Spera was born and raised in Louisville, Kentucky. She currently lives in Los Angeles with her husband and two of her three children. She owns her own television company, One-Two Punch Productions, and has executive produced such shows as Criminal Minds, Army Wives, Reaper, and Finding Carter. She is a finalist for The Montana Prize in fiction and a two-time finalist for the Kirkwood literary prize.

We'll be hosting a luncheon in Deb's honor on Tuesday, June 11 from 12:00 - 1:00. The menu includes soup du jour, Turnrow Café chicken salad on a bed of greens, along with tea and dessert.

This luncheon is a ticketed event that includes lunch and a signed copy of Call Your Daughter Home.

 


Call Your Daughter Home Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780778307747
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-2 Days
Published: Park Row - June 11th, 2019

Publisher's Weekly Bookseller Pick
LibraryReads Pick
Amazon July Best of the Month Pick

"Like Jill McCorkle and Sue Monk Kidd, Spera probes the comfort and strength women find in their own company."
--
O Magazine