The Lion's Den (Hardcover)

The Lion's Den Cover Image
$28.00
Usually Ships in 1-2 Days

Description


Sex, betrayal, and intrigue: A dream vacation on a luxurious yacht turns deadly in this pulse-pounding beach read "chock full of delicious characters who flaunt their sins . . . like the latest Birkin bag" (Adriana Trigiani).

Belle likes to think herself immune to the dizzying effects of fabulous wealth. But when her best friend, Summer, invites her on a glamorous getaway to the Mediterranean aboard her billionaire boyfriend's yacht, the only sensible answer is yes. Belle hopes the trip will be a much-needed break from her stalled acting career and uniquely humiliating waitressing job, but once she's aboard the luxurious Lion's Den, it soon becomes clear this jet-setting holiday is not as advertised.

Belle's dream vacation quickly devolves into a nightmare as she and the handful of other girls Summer invited are treated more like prisoners than guests by their controlling host—and in one terrifying moment, Belle comes to see Summer for who she truly is: a vicious gold digger who will stop at nothing to get what she wants.

Belle realizes she's going to have to keep her wits about her—and her own big secret closely hidden—if she wants to make it off the yacht alive.

About the Author


Katherine St. John is a native of Mississippi and graduate of the University of Southern California. Over the years she has worked as an actress, screenwriter, director, photographer, producer, singer-songwriter, legal assistant, bartender-waitress, yoga instructor, real estate agent, and travel coordinator . . . but finds she likes writing novels best. Katherine currently lives in Los Angeles with her husband and children.

Praise For…


"Sex! Intrigue! Jealousy! Betrayal! Secrets! Batten down the book clubs, Katherine St. John is on deck! This dazzling novel is chock full of delicious characters, who flaunt their sins and peccadilloes, like the latest Birkin bag. Come aboard for a fabulous read, pure escape, beautifully written. Loved it!"
Adriana Trigiani, New York Times bestselling author of Tony's Wife

"Katherine St. John's thrilling debut, THE LION'S DEN, gripped me from the first page. A breathtaking romp through the glamorous and decadent world of billionaires on the Riviera, this riveting tale of friendship and betrayal is sure to be the breakout hit of the summer. It is irresistibly wicked . . . I couldn't put it down!"—Kathryn Stockett, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Helpp.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 11.0px Helvetica; color: #000000}

"St. John wraps a fun yarn around a sinister mystery . . . Toss in a dysfunctional family dynamic . . . and you're off to the regatta. After all, a vacation gone wrong is great fun, as long as you're not on it."
New York Times

"Welcome to the bougiest of bougie settings . . . [a] juicy thriller."
Cosmopolitan magazine

"[A] delicious read . . . brilliant."
Marie Claire magazine

"Engrossing."
Entertainment Weekly

"St. John's sizzling debut sparkles with yacht and fashion porn, and smart, decent Belle is easy to root for as the panic reaches its peak. Blingy, swingy fun plus a well-crafted, socially conscious suspense plot: Anchors aweigh!"
Kirkus

"Katherine St. John's clever debut makes for the perfect escape."
CrimeReads

"Once the story gets going, clever twists abound . . . Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jessica Knoll will devour this story of beautiful people with horrible secrets."
Booklist

"This ultimate beach read has all the essentials you need for an escape: a billionaire boyfriend, a yacht, a Mediterranean background, and plenty of secrets to keep you guessing."
SmarterTravel

"[A] title to watch."
Library Journal

"Machiavellian . . . St. John dishes up a diverting poolside-ready page-turner."
Publishers Weekly

"The Lion's Den has it all. Well-written characters, a great setting, twists and turns, and a story that you don't want to put down. It makes for a really fun summer thriller."—Red Carpet Crash

"A good mystery keeps you guessing with an enticing plot and convincing characters, and St. John delivers that and much more in The Lion's Den . . . This is the guilty pleasure you won't feel the least bit guilty about."—BookTrib


Product Details
ISBN: 9781538733639
ISBN-10: 1538733633
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: June 30th, 2020
Pages: 368